Nominations Supervisory Board and Executive Board AEGON N.V.

Nominations Supervisory Board and Executive Board AEGON N.V.
Shareholders of AEGON N.V. will be asked at the upcoming Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (AGM) on April 22, 2009 to appoint Mr. Arthur Docters van Leeuwen as member of the Supervisory Board for a four-year term. As announced on January 13, 2009, they will also be asked to appoint Mr. Jan Nooitgedagt as member of the Executive Board for a four-year term to succeed Mr. Jos Streppel who will retire from the Executive Board of AEGON N.V. at the AGM. Furthermore, Mr. Willem Stevens will retire from the Supervisory Board on reaching the end of his third term at the AGM.

Mr. Arthur Docters van Leeuwen (Dutch nationality) is Chairman of the Holland Financial Centre. Previously, he was Chairman of the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM), Chairman of the Board of Procurators General of the Netherlands and Director-General of the General Intelligence and Security Service of the Netherlands. Mr. Docters van Leeuwen became observer to AEGON’s Supervisory Board in December 2008 following AEGON’s capital transaction with the Dutch State.

Mr. Jan Nooitgedagt (Dutch nationality) has worked in Europe’s financial services sector for almost 30 years. Educated at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, he worked for PriceWaterhouseCoopers before joining Ernst & Young in 1980. He became a partner of the firm in 1989. In addition to his audit experience, Mr. Nooitgedagt has played a key role in developing Ernst & Young’s financial services business, as well as the firm’s growing Merger & Acquisitions advisory practice. Mr. Nooitgedagt has held various positions at Ernst & Young, most recently as Managing Partner for the Netherlands and Belgium.

As announced at the AGM 2008, the Supervisory Board will propose that Mr. Dudley Eustace be re-appointed to the Supervisory Board for an additional one-year term. In addition, the Supervisory Board will propose that Mr. Shemaya Levy be re-appointed for a second four-year term.

Comments are closed.